Week 1: Multiple Layers

These are layers of writings from the early 20th Century collected by my grandfather, Usher L. Burdick. He was a North Dakota lawyer, author, rancher and congressman, who lived from 1879 to 1960. These layers have a place in my bookcase among a small stack of books he authored and other literary works that survive from his extensive book collection. He was a scholar of Native Americans and fluent in Sioux, whose library include 12,000 books on the West. Many of his writings and manuscripts are housed at the Chester Fritz Library at the University of North Dakota and at the State Historical Society of North Dakota. I was inspired to photograph this stack when I noticed it reminded me of phyllo dough. I gave it a dry-brush treatment in Photoshop to accentuate the paper strata.

8 thoughts on “Week 1: Multiple Layers

  1. How very interesting! I love the story behind which lends so much weight to my feelings / perception of your photo. You definitely have captured layers upon layers and each one tells a story. The look makes me feel like I could not touch them without them falling apart.

  2. How very interesting! I was very intrigued by your comments which added to my perception of your photo. There is so much history held within each of the layers. The detail of the condition of the paper for each layer and that they are different positions lends to the feeling that I want to know what is written on each.
    You have definitely captured multiple layers.

  3. Great take on Multiple Layers. It’s so wonderful that you have your Grandfather’s collections. I love photographs that tell a story, and yours certainly does.

Leave a Reply

