Week 4: The Old and the New

My mother was enamored of all things British, including English bone china. I was eight years old when Princess Elizabeth became Queen Elizabeth II on June 2nd, 1953, and as her namesake, my mother gave me a commemorative china mug. Twenty-five years later my mother gave me another commemorating the queen’s Silver Jubilee, and 25 years later, in 2002, the year my mother died, she gave me the commemorative mug “To celebrate 50 years reign of Her Majesty The Queen 1952-2002.” It says so right on the back of the mug. With my mother gone, I thought that was the end of my Queen collection. Then last evening over dinner, a dear friend just back from the UK presented me with the Diamond Jubilee mug commemorating 60 years on the throne this year. (The mugs are in order, from left, 1953, 1977, 2002 and 2012.) The old gal seems to be going strong. Is there another china mug in my future? For the photo, I added a vignette blur and a touch of tonal contrast in Nik.

6 thoughts on “Week 4: The Old and the New

  1. What a lovely story! – and how thoughtful of your friend to bring you back this years very important mug to add to your collection. I have one from 1953 and this years but nothing between. I like the way you took the shot showing the reflection with the sepia tones of the table.

Leave a Reply

