Week 13: Poverty and/or Wealth

Last week I attended the Empty Bowls fundraiser on Lakewood Ranch Main Street for the Food Bank of Manatee. We enjoyed delicious soups and fresh breads provided by 17 local restaurants. The symbolic meal of soup and bread demonstrates that together, we can fill the empty bowls of our neighbors in need. Shown here is a sampling of the hundreds of beautiful, locally handcrafted ceramic bowls on display. It’s great fun to survey all the bowls and choose one for your very own as a keepsake. This was my second year attending, and I hope someday to have quite an array of unique bowls. As for the soups, they were delicious, ranging from Roasted Butternut Squash Bisque with Garlic Ice Cream floating on top to Chilled Corn and Coconut Soup with Jerk Shrimp, with 15 equally exotic versions in between. Oh! I almost forgot! When I got out my camera to shoot the picture, I had no card in my camera! So I used my new iPhone 5, with its higher resolution. Then I added the Artistic Cutout treatment in Photoshop, which I think works well on the shiny surface of ceramics.

7 thoughts on “Week 13: Poverty and/or Wealth

  1. No card ? really. that ranks up there with going to an event and having a 4 gig card and thinking you have 32, or a thinking you have full battery and you are out without replacements.
    Glad you had a substitute camera and there is nothing wrong with shooting with your phone, while not optimal, I have seen some fantastic photos taken with phones.
    Now – good for you to support this worthwhile cause – and I love the bowls.

  2. Great picture. It looks like a painting … but I guess that is what the Artistic Cutout filter is supposed to do. Every time I try to take a picture with my phone it doesn’t work out very well. I think it is because the phone feels awkward and I certainly don’t have any filters on it.

  3. Really like the blog & the photo. Nothing wrong with Iphone photos as long as you don’t enlarge very much. I hike around the back paths & lakes all around LWR 3 days a week with nothing but my Iphone for photos. Have some pretty good shots too. Can’t wait to upgrade to Iphone 5 as you have, in December when Verizon says I can.

Leave a Reply

