Week 31: Love is . . .

I was cleaning out a closet last week and discovered a ragged old pasteboard box filled with family photographic treasures from days gone by. But the little gem in the box turned out to be a fragile, ruby-colored velvet autograph book, a friendship album, that was my grandmother’s, Emma Robertson. The book, the size of a postcard, was signed by her contemporaries between 1888 and 1890. Oh, the sentiments they wrote, and oh, the graceful cursive of yesteryear that brings their sprigs of poetry alive. Most of the pages fall loose now. The little album portrays the love of friendship a 19th Century teenage girl in Park River, Dakota Territory, enjoyed when the stroke of a pen was a loving, thoughtful thing to do. It is my special obligation to keep it safe for the next generation who happens upon a red velvet book in a box of family keepsakes.
Note: North Dakota was admitted to the Union Nov. 2, 1889; however, as she inaugurated her book in the winter of 1888, she signed it Park River, Walsh Co., D.T.
Three photographs:
Album Cover
FB Page One
FB Page Two

4 thoughts on “Week 31: Love is . . .

  1. Thus tugged at my heart so as it is so similar to items I have found if my grandmother’s and mother’s. I also forwarded to Mitzi as I know she would feel the same. So very meaningful. I think the date was 1888?

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Love this. Thanks for sharing.

    I have a bunch of things like this and treasure them. I hope someone in the next generation will as well.

    Gay

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

