Week 6: Holiday Spirit

On national holidays, I punctuate my front yard stepping stones with American flags. This photo is from Labor Day last weekend. Labor Day was created in 1882 by the labor movement to honor the social and economic achievements of American workers. It is our annual tribute to the contributions workers make to the strength, prosperity and well-being of our country, and it gives (most of) the workforce a deserved day off and a three-day holiday at the end of summer. Today and every day, I am thankful I do not have to get up and go to work in the morning. Did that for 29 years (had 12 years as a stay-at-home mom), and now I am grateful that every day is a Saturday.
fb Labor Day 2014 Flags

12 thoughts on “Week 6: Holiday Spirit

    • When I was growing up, my dad had a full-size flag pole in our front yard, and he raised the flag each morning and lowered it late in the day. Every day. I can still hear the clanging of the hardware on the lanyard and flag on a gusty day. And on the northern plains of northwestern North Dakota, that was most days.

Leave a Reply

