Week 15: Powerful

I have always appreciated the aesthetic of electrical insulators seen on power lines. They remind me of sea glass. I found myself parallel to them as I rode a chair lift up and down Mount Solaro in Anacapri on the Island of Capri off Italy’s mainland.

So what are these glass thingies, anyway? I checked in to Google University and here is what I learned: “An electrical insulator is a material whose internal electric charges do not flow freely, and therefore make it nearly impossible to conduct an electric current under the influence of an electric field. This contrasts with other materials, semiconductors and conductors, which conduct electric current more easily. Some materials such as glass, paper and Teflon, are very good electrical insulators.

Insulators are used in electrical equipment to support and separate electrical conductors without allowing current through themselves. An insulating material used in bulk to wrap electrical cables or other equipment is called insulation. The term insulator is also used more specifically to refer to insulating supports used to attach electric power distribution or transmission lines to utility poles and transmission towers. They support the weight of the suspended wires without allowing the current to flow through the tower to ground.”

All of that aside, I find them very appealing. The natural materials used to make glass, including sand and glass cullet, tended to make light aqua to aqua colored insulators, so the lovely color is not by design, but by the nature of the process.

Insulators

6 thoughts on “Week 15: Powerful

  1. My first thought was to be a smart aleck and say, “I went to bed the other night wondering about insulators;” however, on second thought I thought it best to say, “I have never given any thought to insulators.” I enjoyed reading your research.

Leave a Reply

