Week 46: Stitched Together

I have a hand-stitched quilt that was on my little single bed when I was a young girl. It is made of cotton and the pattern is various pastel baskets. No one in my family is a quilter, that I know of, and I don’t know who made it, but it was lovingly stitched together by hand probably at least 70 years ago. It has not been cared for. It is yellowed and frayed. It has been machine-washed (shame on me) and for the most part is sitting high up on a closet shelf. I cannot bear to part with it. What to do with a forgotten childhood memento? I guess it’s not my problem. Something for my heirs to worry about. Just an old quilt with many memories, and when they inherit it, it will be just an old quilt with no memories.

Quilt

4 thoughts on “Week 46: Stitched Together

Leave a Reply

